On this page

For a first SOC 2, Scytale is our pick when a founder needs software and a consultant. Comp AI suits technical owners wanting inspectable software and expert Slack guidance through its hosted service. Sprinto suits owners needing included first-audit guidance. Software collects evidence, your team operates controls, and an independent CPA issues the report.

This guide compares SOC 2 software for cloud-native startups, typically with 10–50 employees, preparing for their first audit. Use the paths below to find relevant options, then compare their budget and support requirements in the table.

Do you need SOC 2 software now?

Buy when you have a defined compliance program to run. First confirm what the customer requires: a Type 1 or Type 2 report, which systems it must cover, and the deadline. Name the person who will own the work internally, even if you hire a consultant.

If those requirements are still unclear, agree them before signing an annual subscription. You can start documenting policies, assigning control owners and organizing evidence while you decide. The startup SOC 2 guide covers when to begin and how to scope the first audit.

How should a startup choose SOC 2 software?

Start with the person leading implementation and the help they need. Then check the required package against your budget.

The table adds prices, support scope and limitations to these starting points. All prices are USD; a published starting price is not an all-in audit budget.

Startup fit, software price and who does the work
Platform and fitPrice and scopeHelp included / your responsibility
Scytale
For a founder needing a consultant
Software from $7,500 for 12 months and one framework. Build DFY and Build Stronger consulting bundles need a separate quote.DFY: consultant for up to six months. Stronger: 12 months and ongoing policy updates. You approve policies and implement controls. Build Starter has no consulting package.
Comp AI
For a technical owner wanting expert advice
Hosted service: quote-only. Frameworks, team size, timeline and audit/security inclusions affect the quote. Self-hosted operating costs are separate.Hosted service includes one-to-one expert Slack guidance. Your owner implements controls; self-hosting also means operating the software. Do not assume hosted support comes with the public code.
Drata
For self-led teams planning to add frameworks
Quote-only. Foundation covers up to 50 FTEs and one eligible framework, including SOC 2.Training, in-app technical support and Compliance Advisors. The cited documentation does not promise a dedicated implementation manager; assign an internal lead.
Vanta
For mainstream stacks and auditor choice
Essentials from $14,000 for a 12-month Marketplace contract, for 1–20 employees. Larger teams and added modules need separate pricing.Compliance guidance and access to experts. Your team runs implementation unless you contract extra help; avoid paying for modules you will not use.
Sprinto
For a guided first audit
Foundation and Growth are quote-only. Historical Starter estimates are not offers for either current plan.An in-house lead auditor guides the first audit for each framework on your plan, included as standard. Your team implements controls; the independent examination is separate.
Secureframe
For guided implementation with an internal owner
Fundamentals starts at $7,000/year; its matrix lists one framework. Complete and Defense need a quote. No headcount band is shown beside the starting price.Expert access and customer support; your team drives implementation. SSO and SCIM require Complete, so a buyer needing those cannot budget from the Fundamentals floor alone.
Strike Graph
For buyers needing public plan prices
Annual starting prices: Certify $10,000; Scale $21,500; Enterprise $35,000. Scope and add-ons affect the bill.A dedicated consultant is not specified in the cited plans. Budget for your internal owner and any extra advisory help.
Scrut Automation
For SOC 2 alongside risk and other frameworks
$15,000 for a 12-month Marketplace contract: Compliance Automation module, up to 20 employees. Larger teams need a quote.Scrut describes support through post-audit, but the consultant's tasks and term are unspecified. You still need an owner; the price may be hard to justify for a small, single-framework program.

Support descriptions come from the vendors. A task described as guidance is not a promise that someone will do it for you. Request the independent CPA fee separately, even when a provider offers one combined invoice.

What does startup SOC 2 software cost?

Budget for the work around the subscription as well as the software. A $7,000 or $7,500 starting price leaves little room inside a $10,000 total budget for advisory work, remediation and the CPA examination. If $10,000 is your software-only ceiling, those observations are useful quote starting points, subject to their plan and headcount limits.

Use separate lines for software, advisory help, technical remediation, penetration testing where required, and the CPA examination. Check bundle inclusions before counting the same service twice. An internal owner’s time also matters: a cheaper self-service plan can leave more work with engineering.

For a tight budget, define one necessary framework and the systems in scope, then price the support you cannot provide internally. Ask the CPA firm whether a manual evidence workflow is practical before assuming a subscription is required. Self-hosting only helps if your team can operate it; it does not remove the examination fee.

Use the software pricing comparison for wider contract evidence and the startup SOC 2 audit cost guide for the full first-year budget.

The best SOC 2 platforms for startups

Use the fit and limitations below to narrow your finalists. For each one, test the evidence your CPA firm will actually examine—not just the dashboard shown in a sales demo.

Sponsored placement · Our recommendation is independent.

Scytale: Best for startups without in-house compliance expertise

Choose Scytale’s consulting packages when policy preparation and compliance advice would otherwise mean hiring a separate adviser. The difference between Build DFY and Build Stronger is how long that help continues and what ongoing work it covers.

Scytale homepage, with the headline Compliance that never clocks out and a Book a Demo call to action.

The package table lists one-time policy alignment and a black-box web-app penetration test with DFY. Stronger includes ongoing policy updates and a gray-box test. DFY’s weekly calls run until audit completion, but its consultant term is capped at six months; resolve an overrun before signing.

If your team already has compliance expertise, price Build Starter separately rather than paying for unused consulting. The Marketplace software floor does not price either consulting bundle. See the Scytale review and pricing guide.

Comp AI: Best for technical founders who want expert guidance

Comp AI suits a technical owner who wants to inspect how the software works while getting advice on the compliance program. Its public core offers a self-hosting option; the hosted service avoids making your team responsible for running that deployment.

Expert Slack guidance helps the owner decide what to implement. It does not mean the expert makes access changes, resolves every configuration gap or operates your controls. The pricing page scopes the quote around frameworks, headcount, timeline and audit/security needs.

Skip self-hosting if nobody can maintain it. Check enterprise-feature and support entitlements in the hosted quote rather than inferring them from the public code. See the Comp AI review and pricing guide.

Drata: Best for self-led cloud-native startups

Drata is worth shortlisting when someone can lead implementation and you expect the program to expand beyond a first SOC 2. Its plan table gives you a concrete upgrade boundary: Advanced adds custom connections and tests that Foundation does not list.

Drata homepage, with the headline Explore the World of Agentic Trust and a Trust Dashboard product preview.

That distinction matters if your evidence comes from custom systems. Check those requirements before treating the entry plan as sufficient. The current onboarding guide describes training, technical support and Compliance Advisors, without promising a dedicated implementation manager.

A founder needing someone to drive policy preparation should obtain an explicit implementation scope. Software support alone does not establish that service. See the Drata review.

Vanta: Best for integration and auditor-marketplace choice

Vanta is worth comparing when its connector catalog covers your existing stack and you want a choice of auditors familiar with the platform. A working connection to your actual systems matters more than the total number of integrations.

Vanta homepage showing the headline Trust is everything and a product preview of automated compliance frameworks.

Have your proposed CPA firm walk through its evidence-request process before committing. That establishes whether the workflow fits the engagement you are buying. For enterprise security reviews, Vanta’s current plan cards include 25 questionnaires per year on Plus and 144 on Professional. That allowance can change which plan you need; it is separate from the Marketplace add-on prices.

Vanta is a weaker fit when the subscription and implementation help consume a budget intended to cover the whole audit. Compare the complete written scope, including add-ons and renewal terms. See the Vanta review.

Sprinto: Best for prescriptive onboarding with first-audit guidance

Sprinto suits an owner who wants sequenced implementation tasks and human guidance through a first audit. Its included lead-auditor guidance is a useful distinction to compare against paid implementation help elsewhere. It remains separate from the independent CPA examination.

Sprinto homepage, with the headline Trust doesn't wait for your next audit and a row of framework badges including SOC 2.

The published promise is tied to the first audit for each framework, not a specified six- or twelve-month consulting term. Agree policy deliverables and post-audit support. If you already have custom controls, demonstrate that workflow before replacing it with Sprinto’s program.

The often-cited $6,000–$8,000/year Starter range is an UnderDefense estimate, recorded July 24, 2026. It is not a current Foundation or Growth offer. See the Sprinto review.

Secureframe: Best for teams seeking compliance-expert guidance

Secureframe is worth shortlisting for a first framework when your team can run implementation and wants expert guidance. Fundamentals now has a public starting price, so you can request a scoped quote without relying on broad historical contract estimates.

Secureframe homepage, with the headline Automate compliance. Improve security. Reduce risk. and a product dashboard preview.

The package comparison, checked August 31, 2026, puts SSO and SCIM Connections on Complete. If those are requirements, Fundamentals’ $7,000/year floor is not the price of the plan you need. The page also does not define a headcount band beside that floor.

A small startup with a tight total budget must still fund implementation and its CPA examination. Decide which policy work you need a person to perform, then confirm whether that work is included. See the Secureframe review.

Strike Graph: Best for published plan pricing

Strike Graph lets you compare paid tiers before a sales call. Use that transparency to identify the plan you need: some AI and questionnaire features sit above Certify, so the entry price may not cover your requirements.

Strike Graph homepage, with the headline AI-native compliance management software empowering teams to scale.

Its limited free signup is an evaluation option, not the boundary of the paid product. The integration page describes cloud, HR and code-system connections. For custom evidence sources, its pricing page lists the Evidence API under Enterprise, not the $10,000 Certify plan.

For a founder without compliance experience, the unresolved cost is advisory help: the cited plans do not specify a dedicated consultant. A published subscription price alone cannot establish the cheapest route to a report. See the Strike Graph profile.

Scrut Automation: Best for risk and multi-framework workflows

Include Scrut when you need risk management and additional frameworks alongside SOC 2. Its Audit Center describes scoped auditor access and evidence-request tracking, giving your CPA firm a specific workflow to inspect.

Scrut Automation homepage, with the headline AI Teammates that power your compliance program.

Scrut describes hands-on support through post-audit, but the source does not specify which policy tasks a consultant takes over or for how long. Resolve that gap in the quote.

The $15,000 small-team Marketplace contract may be difficult to justify for a startup needing only one framework. Larger teams also need separate pricing rather than assuming the up-to-20-employee offer applies. See the Scrut profile.

How we ranked these platforms

We compared published package scope, pricing evidence, support responsibilities and auditor handoff, informed by our work matching startups with auditors. These are our best picks based on deep research and experience. We have not run comparable hands-on tests or measured which vendor gets startups to a signed report fastest.

We don’t sell SOC 2 software or take commissions from these vendors. See our methodology.

Enterprise-wide GRC suites are outside this shortlist. We cover Thoropass’s software-and-audit bundle in the general software guide. Delve is excluded because of unresolved evidence and auditor-relationship questions documented in its profile and pricing guide.

What should you check with your auditor before buying?

Ask each finalist to demonstrate the same control, such as removing a departed employee’s access. Record the answers below and have your CPA firm review the evidence. A prepared dashboard cannot establish whether the export is complete enough for your engagement.

Copy this checklist into your demo notes:

  • Evidence: Which source system, timestamp and population does the record cover? Record missing systems and manual uploads.
  • Responsibility: Who fixes a failed control, approves the work and responds to the auditor? Name the startup owner and the vendor contact.
  • CPA review: Can the auditor inspect the source record and review history? Record any missing evidence or access restrictions.
  • Exit: Can you export evidence, mappings and approvals? Record retention periods and access after the contract ends.
  • Support: Who drafts or edits policies, how often do you meet, and when does that help end? Record the contracted deliverables.

Then request quotes against one brief: headcount, framework and report type, in-scope systems, target date, required support, and whether penetration testing and CPA fees are included. Separate dates for implementation, evidence readiness and report delivery. Compare startup SOC 2 auditors if you have not selected the CPA firm yet.

FAQ

How fast can a startup get a SOC 2 report?

The timetable depends on your control gaps, report type, evidence period and CPA schedule. Type 1 assesses controls at a point in time; Type 2 examines their operation over an agreed period. Software can help collect evidence, but a readiness score is not a signed report. There is no comparable vendor-by-vendor report-time evidence behind this shortlist. See how long a SOC 2 audit takes for the stages.

Is there free SOC 2 software for startups?

Comp AI’s public core can be self-hosted, with separate infrastructure and operating work; its hosted service is quote-only. Strike Graph’s limited free signup allows 15 evidence attachments with Office 365 and Google Drive integrations. Neither removes the cost of the independent CPA examination. See the Comp AI pricing guide and Strike Graph free signup for those limits.

Can I switch SOC 2 platforms later?

Yes. Agree with your auditor how to preserve evidence history, control mappings, approvals and access to the previous system. Reconnect and test integrations before retiring the old platform. Prefer the gap between audit cycles where possible, and check export rights and renewal notice periods before signing.

Once you have two finalists, use our Drata vs Vanta comparison, Drata vs Sprinto comparison or Vanta vs Sprinto comparison for more detail. To widen the shortlist, compare the software directory; the platform matcher on this page can also narrow the options by your requirements.