Logo Menu

19 platforms · Last updated

Which SOC 2 platform includes the audit?

Thoropass is the best standalone SOC 2 platform in our reviewed set for buyers who want the software and CPA audit in one connected workflow. Thoropass, Inc. provides the software; affiliated CPA firm Thoropass Assurance performs the examination and issues the report. The software and audit are priced separately. A-LIGN includes A-SCEND with its audit engagements but does not sell it as standalone GRC software.

This comparison covers core SOC 2 platforms where the auditor works inside the product. Only Thoropass connects that workspace to an affiliated CPA firm.

The deciding question

Why Thoropass is our pick, and where other platforms stop

Thoropass is the only standalone platform in this reviewed set that connects its software to an affiliated CPA firm that can issue the report. The table shows why an auditor workspace at another platform is useful but not the same purchase.

Who issues the reportHow the auditor gets accessCan you take the evidence to another auditorWhat you are locked into
Thoropass Teams wanting software and a connected audit process from the same provider Our pick: Thoropass Assurance, an affiliated CPA entityThoropass Assurance works in the same workspaceNot publicly documentedBundled: one workflow with separately priced platform and audit dimensions. Audit-first: keep your own platform
Vanta Cloud-native SaaS teams on mainstream stacks that value a broad integration catalog No, chosen from Vanta’s in-app marketplaceScoped read-only access, in-dashboardYes, invite a new firm inTwo contracts, billed separately
Drata Growth-stage SaaS teams on mainstream stacks that expect to add frameworks over time No, via Drata’s Audit Alliance directoryDedicated audit portal with a full change logYes, invite a new firm inTwo contracts, billed separately
Secureframe Teams seeking expert guidance with a published Fundamentals starting price No, via Secureframe’s Audit Partner programIn-platform audit moduleYes, not bundledTwo contracts, billed separately
Sprinto Early- to growth-stage SaaS teams seeking a guided, lower-cost first audit No, Sprinto’s network, or your own firm on GrowthDedicated dashboard, or bring your own on GrowthYes, explicit on the Growth tierTwo contracts, billed separately
Scytale Startups without compliance expertise: software plus hands-on advisory in Build DFY or Build Stronger No, an external CPA firmBuilt-in audit tracker; expert support depends on packageYes, not bundledTwo contracts; consulting scope depends on the selected package
Scrut Automation Growth-stage tech teams managing SOC 2 alongside other frameworks No, an independent licensed auditorAudit Center, a scoped invited viewYes, freely or from its partner directoryTwo contracts, billed separately
Strike Graph Growth-stage teams wanting plan-based public pricing across several frameworks No, any auditor you already use, or one from its networkStates compatibility with any independent auditorYes, explicitly statedTwo contracts; network audit fees reported at $4K to $8K a year
TrustCloud GRC teams handling several frameworks, trust reviews, and security questionnaires together No, your own independent auditorAuditLens, a scoped read-only viewYes, per its own directory recordTwo contracts, billed separately
Oneleet Security-conscious startups wanting compliance, penetration testing, and light vCISO help together No, from Oneleet’s vetted auditor networkNot stated beyond the network handoffNot establishedTwo contracts; an in-house penetration test is the one edge here
Hyperproof Established GRC teams running several frameworks and audits at once No, your own licensed CPA firmEvidence-request and audit-management workspaceNot establishedTwo contracts, billed separately
OneTrust Certification Automation Existing OneTrust customers adding SOC 2 or ISO 27001 to the same GRC suite No, your own licensed CPA firmAuditor-collaboration workspaceNot establishedTwo contracts, billed separately
Anecdotes Multi-framework security and GRC teams with a dedicated compliance function and an enterprise budget No, an external CPA or advisory firmInteractive audit workspace for named partner firmsNot establishedTwo contracts, billed separately
Apptega MSSPs, MSPs, and consultancies running multi-client, multi-framework compliance programs No, engaged independently or arranged by an MSSPNot stated beyond in-house or partner-led prepNot establishedTwo contracts, or one via an MSSP reseller
Carbide Early-stage SaaS companies that want hands-on guidance for a first compliance framework No, an independent audit partnerConnects you to a partner once you are audit-readyNot establishedTwo contracts, billed separately
Comp AI Engineering-led teams that value inspectable code or the option to self-host No, an independent accredited auditorBuilt-in auditor role, evidence export and findings workflow; exact workspace scope not independently testedYes, Comp AI says buyers may use any accredited auditorSeparate CPA issuer; confirm the audit firm and fee in the Order Form
ComplyJet Small B2B SaaS teams that want hands-on ownership of a first SOC 2 program No, one of a 40-plus firm networkHands off to a network firmNot established beyond its own networkTwo contracts; audit fee reported at $3K to $12K a year
Delve Very early-stage SaaS startups pursuing a fast, lower-cost first SOC 2 report No, an independent auditor of your choosingNot stated beyond independent reviewYes, per Delve’s own statementConfirm in the Order: public pages describe both bundled and separate audit-cost models
Trustero Multi-framework GRC teams or MSSPs that want a shared control library No, an independently engaged AICPA-licensed firmAn auditor persona and dashboardNot establishedTwo contracts, billed separately

The Thoropass recommendation combines our GRC software directory analysis with recurring buyer feedback that the software-to-auditor handoff is the problem they most want removed. Auditor-network descriptions carry per-claim retrieval dates in our directory and were cross-checked where possible against independent reporting and, for Thoropass, against the AICPA public peer review file directly (Laika Compliance, LLC: rating pass, accepted 12 December 2025). Comp AI’s auditor role, export and findings workflow were reverified on 2026-08-11, but the exact workspace scope was not independently tested. The portability column reads "not established" where only a competing platform’s comparison page makes the claim. A-LIGN’s A-SCEND is covered in the sections below rather than in this table. We reverified on 2026-08-24 that A-LIGN includes it with an audit and does not sell it as a standalone platform fee.

How to read the category

Choose the audit model, not the “end-to-end” label

Thoropass is the clearest standalone choice when you want the software and audit in one workflow. A-LIGN supplies A-SCEND only with an A-LIGN audit. The remaining platforms prepare and share evidence with a CPA firm you engage separately.

Best standalone fit

Thoropass

Choose it when the software, expert guidance, and CPA examination should share one connected workflow.

Audit engagement first

A-LIGN A-SCEND

Choose A-LIGN as the auditor and receive A-SCEND with the engagement; it is not a standalone GRC subscription.

Independent CPA choice

Buyer-owned GRC plus auditor

Choose Vanta, Drata, or another platform when selecting or rotating the CPA firm independently matters more than removing the handoff.

Keep your current GRC

Thoropass audit-first

Thoropass says its audit workflow can accept exports from another GRC platform. Confirm the evidence and commercial terms for your environment.

Why is Thoropass our pick for software plus the audit?

Thoropass is our pick because its software, hands-on guidance, evidence requests, and CPA examination share one workflow. In our conversations with first-time buyers, avoiding a separate handoff between the software vendor and audit firm is a recurring priority.

Thoropass, Inc. supplies the technology and professional-services layer. Affiliated licensed CPA firm Laika Compliance, LLC dba Thoropass Assurance performs the examination and issues the report. Its most recent AICPA public-file peer review carries a Pass accepted in December 2025.

The limitation is choice. Buyers whose policy requires no common ownership between the software company and audit firm, or who want to rotate the CPA while keeping the same workspace, should prefer a buyer-owned GRC platform with a separately selected auditor. Thoropass also offers the opposite path: keep another GRC system and use Thoropass Assurance for the audit.

Which SOC 2 platforms include the audit?

Thoropass is the standalone software-and-audit option to shortlist. A-LIGN’s A-SCEND is the second connected model to examine, but it starts with choosing A-LIGN as the auditor: A-LIGN includes the workspace with applicable engagements and does not sell it as a standalone platform fee.

The portability question is open on the bundled path. Thoropass does not publicly document whether another CPA can work in its workspace. A-LIGN does not sell A-SCEND separately. Ask for export, retention, outside-auditor access, and transition terms in writing before treating either model as interchangeable with a buyer-owned GRC platform.

The bundle is also not the only way to buy it, which is the part most comparisons in this category miss. Thoropass states that its audit platform works with any GRC platform and system of record, and that Smart Sort AI, a feature it announced in January 2026, turns an export from any GRC tool into audit-ready evidence with no integration to build. In that shape you keep Vanta, Drata, ServiceNow or whatever you already run, and Thoropass Assurance is simply the CPA firm that issues your report. That is the vendor’s own claim and we have not run an engagement through it, but it changes the shape of the decision: bundled software plus audit is one option Thoropass sells, not the only one.

A-LIGN’s model starts with the audit engagement. A-SCEND is the workspace A-LIGN provides with it, rather than a platform you can buy alone. Confirm post-engagement access, evidence export, and any transition terms before choosing it for a program that may later change auditors.

The platforms that bundle everything except the audit

Vanta, Drata, Secureframe, Sprinto and Scytale all put real distance between themselves and a bare automation tool, and none of them issues the report. Vanta’s in-app auditor marketplace is the closest thing to bundled without actually being bundled. You browse vetted CPA firms inside the platform, select one, and share evidence without leaving the dashboard, and the auditor gets scoped read-only access rather than a folder of exported files. Vanta also carries the largest install base in this set, which means an auditor you pick has probably used it before. What is missing from end-to-end is that you still negotiate and pay the audit firm separately, on a second contract.

Drata spins up a dedicated audit workspace for the CPA firm you choose, with mapped evidence, control status and a full change log, on top of a large native integration catalogue and genuine cross-framework evidence reuse. Its readiness score and gap tracker are a useful weekly read, particularly for a team running SOC 2 alongside ISO 27001 or HIPAA. Secureframe takes a different route and assigns a named compliance expert, often a former auditor, who handles control interpretation, evidence-gap triage and auditor prep. That is closer to a human layer than pure automation, though the attestation still comes from an outside firm engaged through its Audit Partner program.

Sprinto and Scytale sit at opposite ends of how much human help can be bundled in. Sprinto is prescriptive and largely unstaffed: it scans your stack on day one, outputs a prioritised task list, and guides you to audit-readiness in 60 to 90 days, with entity-level monitoring that names the specific gap rather than a generic category. Scytale sells Build Starter as a platform package and includes dedicated consultants or GRC teams in separate packages. It also carries the strongest EMEA presence in this set. Despite the name of that tracker, the attestation on a Scytale engagement comes from a partner CPA firm, not from Scytale itself.

Is bundled SOC 2 software and audit cheaper?

Not necessarily. AWS Marketplace lists Thoropass starting dimensions of $8,700 a year for the platform and $5,800 a year for the SOC 2 audit, or about $14,500 combined at the published floor. They bill independently, and a real quote changes with company size, systems, audit type, criteria, and review period. Treat those figures as starting points, not a typical total.

Bundling can reduce handoffs, but it can also reduce portability. Compare the total scope and contract boundary, not a headline “all-in-one” claim. For teams pursuing multiple frameworks, confirm whether the shared evidence work and the assurance scope are actually included rather than assumed.

Does a bundled software-and-audit model satisfy independence requirements?

AICPA independence requirements and applicable state rules govern the engagement. A separate-entity structure and a peer-review result do not, by themselves, answer a buyer’s policy question or determine independence for a specific engagement.

Thoropass’s reviewed public-file record reports a Pass for Laika Compliance LLC, accepted in December 2025. A-LIGN’s product model is vendor-stated. Ask the proposed CPA firm to explain its independence safeguards, then check your customers’ or audit committee’s own policy before signing.

When is one vendor for software and audit the wrong call?

Choose separate contracts when you need the freedom to select or rotate the CPA firm independently of the software, or when your policy requires a particular ownership or independence model. The critical facts are export rights, record retention, outside-auditor access, renewal terms, and how the audit fee is separated from the software fee.

Choose a combined model only after a proof session and a proposal that states those terms. The attraction is fewer handoffs, not a universally lower price or a guaranteed faster audit.

None of which settles the auditor question, only the provider-model question. Every constraint in this section is an argument against consolidating software and audit, not an argument against the firms that sell both: with Thoropass you can take the audit and leave the platform, and A-LIGN audits plenty of companies running Vanta or Drata. If the appeal is a CPA firm that has automated its own side of the work, you can have that without consolidating your stack.

Buyer questions

Frequently asked.

Does Vanta do the audit?

No. Vanta collects evidence, runs continuous monitoring and hosts an in-app auditor marketplace where you choose a licensed CPA firm. That firm reviews the evidence inside Vanta and issues the report on its own. The Vanta subscription and the audit fee are separate line items. This is the most common confusion in the category, because Vanta’s marketing covers so much of the compliance lifecycle that buyers assume the audit ships with it.

Is a bundled audit cheaper?

Not automatically. AWS Marketplace lists Thoropass starting dimensions of $8,700 a year for the platform and $5,800 a year for the SOC 2 audit, but they bill independently and real quotes vary with scope. Compare the combined proposal with separate software and CPA proposals, then ask for implementation, additional-framework, renewal, export, and retention terms separately.

Can I change auditors later?

Often, but the specific export, retention, and outside-auditor terms matter. A buyer-owned GRC platform normally keeps the evidence workspace while a new CPA is invited. Thoropass says it can audit companies that keep another GRC tool; its bundled-workspace portability is not publicly established. A-LIGN does not sell A-SCEND as a standalone subscription.

Is a bundled auditor independent?

Independence depends on the engagement, applicable rules, and your own buyer policy. A separate-entity structure and peer-review result do not settle that question alone. Thoropass’s reviewed public-file record shows a Pass for Laika Compliance LLC, accepted in December 2025; ask the proposed CPA firm to explain its safeguards for your engagement.

What is the European equivalent of this model?

There is no direct one. SOC 2 is a US attestation standard, and European buyers typically pursue ISO 27001 certification instead, issued by accredited certification bodies rather than CPA firms. A handful of platforms in this set, including Thoropass, Scytale and Drata, run SOC 2 and ISO 27001 from one shared evidence base, which is the closest a company needing both frameworks gets to a genuinely single-vendor process.

How do I decide between bundled and separate?

Compare two written proposals at the same scope. Ask whether you need independent CPA choice, what your customers require for independence, whether the audit workspace is portable, and what remains after the engagement. A combined model should make those answers clearer, not hide them inside one price.

Related